Day 51: 107k for #107days

Day 51 was adopted by the amazing Jane Youell. Jane got in touch early in the #107days campaign to say that she was thinking of doing a run for LB. Those who’ve followed closely will have been blown away from the marathon runners efforts here, here and here. Jane wanted to do it a bit differently, she decided to run 107k for LB, and blog her journey, here’s why:

I heard about the #justiceforLB campaign from my PhD supervisor. She kept dropping it into conversation each time we met asking me to take a look at it as it was important. I ignored her advice. But, as she keeps telling me she is always right and to ignore her is an error 🙂 But this kind of thing happens quite a lot, more than you’d think probably. People who know you have a child with autism seem to think that all you want to read is books about autism, you only want to watch films about people with autism, you only read articles about autism. Well, I don’t really. Not unless I can guarantee a happy ending, which most of the time I can’t, so I will just float around in my little bubble and pretend the world is just and kind thank you very much.

But reality always seeps in somehow and I was beginning to think around notions of oppression and care in my own research and I could see the parallels with the little I knew of the #justiceforLB campaign so I started to look at some of the blogs. I couldn’t read them without crying and getting more than a little angry.  So, I did what I always do when I feel angry and teary I phoned my best friend for a good swear about the injustice of the world. We both have children who are going to need life long care of some sort which will need to be provided by outside agencies – we are blooming fabulous but we can’t go on forever – I advised her not to look at the case as it would upset her. She ignored me and we hatched a plan to get involved. We wanted to raise awareness and some money in support of the #107day project. As I had some trainers and a desire to run again we decided that the best way to support the #107day project was if I could run 107k. In a fit of over optimism – we actually believe we are a kind of social care Batman and Robin – and only a loose idea of how far 107k is, it was decided that running 10x10k and 1x7k on 11 consecutive days was the way to go.

So why am I involved in the #107 days #justiceforLB campaign? Because I am a Mum and am in awe and full of admiration for Sara and her family, because all the young dudes really matter, because I have a moral, ethical and social responsibility to make a stand against injustice, because I want to raise awareness and if I can some cash and because my best friend Batman dared me to.

JaneDay1-3

Jane has been supported by family and friends and you can follow her journey on her blog or twitter, today is Day 5 of 11, 50k complete, 57k to go, so be sure to swing by and give her some moral support. Here’s the evidence for Day 1, 2 and 3 with her personal trainer Maisie, who has cycled or run with her Mum each day that she could. Awesome.

One thought on “Day 51: 107k for #107days

  1. Pingback: Day 53: The golden M (iddle) #107days | #107days

Leave a Reply

